Municipal Corporation meeting continues: Delhi will get new mayor and deputy mayor today

New Delhi: Elections are being held today for the prestigious posts of Mayor, Deputy Mayor and 6 members of the Standing Committee from the House of Municipal Corporation of Delhi. Nominated councilors have taken oath and now the oath of elected councilors has started. This time the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) councilors are not creating a ruckus over the first oath being taken by the nominated councillors. However, Aam Aadmi Party’s Adarsh ​​Nagar councilor Mukesh Goyal said that we are not refusing to take the oath of nominated councillors. But it is a tradition that the first elected councilors take oath.

deployment of security forces

In view of the elections, security forces have been deployed at the civic center of the MCD headquarters. In fact, going against the tradition last time, Protem Speaker Satya Sharma first started administering oath to the nominated councilors and there was a ruckus about this. Due to which the House of the Municipal Corporation of Delhi had to be adjourned. All the 250 elected corporators, 14 MLAs of Delhi and 10 MPs of Delhi will be able to vote in this election.

The candidates for the post of Mayor are Shelly Oberoi and Ashu Thakur (AAP) and Rekha Gupta (BJP). Oberoi is the main contender of AAP. The candidates for the post of deputy mayor are Aale Mohammad Iqbal and Jalaj Kumar (AAP) and Kamal Bagdi (BJP). The Congress will not take part in the election of mayor, deputy mayor and standing committee members to be held today. While Congress has 9 councilors in MCD.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *